June 27, 2018

Sharing a Server to Your mocktastic Team

How to share a mock API server, with your entire mocktastic team for seamless collaboration.

Never heard of Mocktastic before? Well, Mocktastic is a cross platform, downloadable, GUI desktop application, which allows you to easily mock up any REST API without having to write a single line of code. Anybody can create a mock API server, and then share it with their team, so the entire team can use it. Click here to know more!
Sharing a Server to Your mocktastic Team

Continuing on with our series on how to use mocktastic's teams feature to seamlessly collaborate with your development team, today let's talk about how to share a mock server you have created with your team. mocktastic refers to this act of sharing a server with your team is called 'Publishing' your server.

To publish a server, you need to meet the following pre-requisites:

  • You have a mocked up API server in the mocktastic desktop app, which is ready to be shared with your team.
  • You are a Publisher or an Admin on your team. If you are not a Publisher on your team, talk to your team's Admin, and ask them to change your role.

Okay, so now we're ready to publish our server.

  • Open up the Mocktastic desktop app. Goto the 'Account' menu, and click the 'Login' option.
  • A new login window will open, asking for your email [2a], and password [2b]. Provide these details, and click 'Login'. [2c]
  • Once you've logged in, open the server you wish to publish, by clicking the server name in the sidebar. [3]
  • Click the Publish/Unpublish Server ¬†button on the server page. [4]
  • A list of teams, in which you are a Publisher will popup [5]. Select the team you wish to publish this server to.
  • Click the 'Publish Server' button. [6]
  • Your server has now been successfully published [7]. Mocktastic will also display the version of the published server, which will currently be v1.
  • The server page will also change to reflect that the server is now shared with a team. It will now show the published version of the server [8a], and the name of the team the server is published to. [8b]

That's it! Your server has been shared with your team, and all the members of the team will shortly be notified about the newly available server. They can then sync the server with just two clicks. We'll talk about syncing in an upcoming post. Stay tuned until then!